Why make one game a month?

A few hours before 2013, my friend and indie game dev partner Jake Albano, convinced me to participate in One Game a Month.

One Game a Month (1GAM) is simply a challenge to game developers to successfully finish a game at least once every month in a year.

Since I began programming, there would be regretfully long amounts of time where I never saw a single line of code.  This was usually between semesters of school. Whenever I did finally get back to coding, I had to spend precious time re-learning concepts, which slowed my development process and my growth as a programmer.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

I’ve begun learning about indie game developers and their journey to “success”. Indie Game: The Movie and talks by Ed McMillen, Jonathan Blow, and Wolfire Games (3 of my most admired developers) have really taught me lessons in career and design as well as provided loads of inspiration. What is blindingly obvious is that, if you want to be an indie game developer, you need to WANT to be an indie game developer.

Though I fear what may or may not come with choosing to pursue independent game development as my living, and though I have personal things I need to wrestle with for this, I can’t imagine myself doing anything else. Too many things have aligned and gone right, too many great people have come my way, too much of it feels right, and I have too much fun with it to go anywhere else.

All of this and One Game a Month is where I am and what I am doing to get myself in gear and jumpstart my portfolio and my career. The future will be tough and will demand an inhuman amount of work, but with my friends and my incredibly supportive family, it also looks brilliantly bright.

Leave a Reply

